SIMON HEADLEY WINS BRITISH CITIZENS AWARD

Simon Headley, a selfless emergency volunteer, has been recognised at the House of Lords for his dedication to supporting his community and has been commended for his outstanding commitment to the emergency services. His selfless responsibility has helped him gain one of the country’s highest accolades – a British Citizen Award (BCA). The BCA recognises extraordinary achievements by everyday people who have made a positive difference to the lives of others that may otherwise have gone unnoticed.

Simon has had a lifelong ambition to work with fire and rescue services and he currently works as a full time administrator at Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service. As well as this, Simon is the coordinator for the British Red Cross Fire and Emergency Support and also manages to make time to support three other agencies voluntarily.

He is on call for 12 hours a week as a first responder for the East Midlands Ambulance Service, where he responds to urgent requests and deals with life threatening situations regularly. He also dedicates 12 hours each week to Leicestershire Search and Rescue and chooses to be on call for 48 hours each week for the British Red Cross Fire and Emergency Support.

When asked about receiving his award, Simon said: “Being awarded a BCA is one of the greatest accomplishments I’ve ever received. It’s an honour to be recognised for something I’m very passionate about and has given me so much joy over the years. I was completely shocked when I found out I was being honoured with this prestigious award. I didn’t know too much about the BCAs until I was nominated, but being recognised for the work I do is a huge achievement and I’m very excited.”

He continued: “Even though I’m only a volunteer, I take all my positions seriously because I’m dealing with the lives of others. I want to do the best I can to make the lives of others easier, and be there as a support system for those who need it. I’m always trying to learn new things that can benefit others.”

Leave a Reply

